Milk Round: cumin & cinnamon milk

I know what you’re thinking.

Half of you probably read the title of this post and now think I’m barking mad for trying this combination. Perhaps many of you squirmed at the thought of it and asked yourselves: how can this possibly be anything but gross? I bet the other question on your lips is: has this desperate girl just decided to raid her spice cupboard?

I can assure you that only one of the above statements is incorrect. Unfortunately for me,  it’s the cumin and cinnamon milk that comes out on top here!

Now- please hear me out!

Any millennial worth their salt has heard of The Turmeric Latte. One need not scroll far on  Instagram before being confronted by plush shots of ‘Golden milk’ in their thousands.

However, I thought I might SPICE things up a little and attempt to incorporate one of my other favourite ingredients into this week’s milk…cumin. Though cumin is usually reserved for curries, the unmistakable, enticing aroma of cumin in this drink, especially when heated is insane! The subtle presence of honey and vanilla provides just the right amount of sweetness to balance out the milk’s more savory components; this helps to create a drink that is incredibly comforting but a little different!

Take that, turmeric. Cumin’s coming for you!

Ingredients:

  • 250ml semi-skimmed milk or alternative milk
  • 1 1/2 tsp ground cumin
  • 1 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1 tsp honey
  • 1 tsp vanilla bean paste or extract

Instructions:

Pre-recipe prep: I wholeheartedly recommend ‘preheating’ your mug to help keep your milk hotter for longer. I do this by placing it in an oven on its lowest setting to get nice and toasty while I get on with the fun measuring and tasting bit.

  1. Add the milk, spices, honey and vanilla bean paste to a blender and blitz until thoroughly combined. Alternatively, whisk ingredients together by hand. This will  stop the spices from settling into clumps.
  2. Set a saucepan over a low heat and warm the spice-infused milk until just simmering. Make sure you stir constantly to avoid spice clumpage and boiling.
  3. Take a (preheated!) mug and pour in your piping hot milk. Drink and enjoy with a spoon, mixing occasionally to re-distribute the spices which will tend to float to the top.

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

 

2 thoughts on “Milk Round: cumin & cinnamon milk

    1. Ah thank you so much Hari! Let me know how your spicy adventures go!
      I am a huge fan of a coconut hot chocolate and I have a couple of nut butter recipes up my sleeve! I’m very intrigued about this matcha latte business- I shall definitely give it a go! Xx

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

